When Dreams Meet Reality

To-Do List

1. Write Book

2. Publish Book

3. Make Millions

4. Quit job, write (and edit!) full-time

5. Retire to a beautiful home overlooking ocean

That about sums it up, right? This is the thought of many authors heading into the business. We see the success of others, and think, that’s going to be me! It is a beautiful dream, one I am certainly guilty of. Especially numbers 4 and 5. Those would be nice. But is it doable?

For some, yes I suppose it is. For me? Doubtful. Not to bash my own abilities as a writer, but the chances of me making enough money to support a family of four living in Massachusetts is less likely than me winning the Mega Millions this week. (I am totally playing, with a tag of over $550 mil, I can’t afford not to play!)

I read a particularly brilliant article today, How much Can Indie Authors Realistically Make? by Rachel Thompson who sums up the numbers you are more likely to see. Basic moral of the story? Don’t quit your day job. Harsh, I know. In order to have a hope of making a living, research says I need to pump out like 3-5 books a year (at least) and do this for a few years. Hmm, not exactly an easy feat while working full time and raising two kids, a husband, and a dog. Not an easy thing to do even without those things.

Despite this, I am going to try. I have just finished my NanoWriMo Manuscript and have begun attacking the crap out of it with my figurative red pen. Could it be my lottery ticket to retirement? Statistically, probably not. Am I going to treat it as such? You betcha. I am going to treat this baby like it is a living breathing child. Why? Because it is. I have brought it to life, nurtured it, and given it a future. A manuscript is a literary imprint of yourself. In this piece, you can find a definition of who I am, and why I write. True, someone else may not be able to see it like I can, but I know that Character A is a jerk because a part of me is a jerk. (Okay, a fairly big part of me is a jerk, I won’t lie.)

Writing_Quote_329Even if it does not get picked up, I am still going to treasure it. Why? Because I created it. And I am going to pretend that this beautiful, albeit slightly sloppy, novel-in-the-works is a part of my dream. I will not give up home that my “To Do List” will happen. Why? Because much like the Mega Millions ticket, you never know which manuscript is the next big thing. Be it this one, the next, or 40 manuscripts from now, I will have my success.

Leave a comment